The Hatch Act of 1887 established the State Experiment Station system and provided land and/or funds for each state to develop an Agricultural Experiment Station to conduct research, especially in the areas of soil minerals and plant growth. The Oklahoma Agricultural Experiment Station was established by the Oklahoma Territorial Legislature in 1890. The first building constructed on the Oklahoma A&M College campus was the Experiment Station Barn, which was completed in 1892, a year before construction began on ‘Old Central’ in 1893.
Today, OAES stands as the research leg of the three agency group comprising the Division of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, which also includes teaching (the College) and outreach (Cooperative Extension). More than 100 Ph.D.-level faculty members are funded at least partially by the OAES to conduct research in areas ranging from cattle and wheat production to cell wall biology and mechanisms that affect conversion of plant materials to biofuels. Research labs are located in Agricultural Hall, Noble Research Center, Food & Agricultural Products and Animal Science buildings on campus. Additionally, the OAES operates field, greenhouse and lab facilities at 18 research stations and/or centers located throughout the state.
Oklahoma Agricultural Experiment Station
139 Agricultural Hall
Oklahoma State University
Stillwater, OK 74078
Oklahoma Station Chemistry Building and Grounds, 1900
Courtesy of Wikimedia