The Index to American Botanical Literature has provided a service to the American botanical community for over a century, going entirely electronic in 1999. The searchable database includes all those entries published in the Index since 1996, and thus includes botanical literature appearing since late 1995. It is a citation database, meaning that it is effective for finding articles or texts that can bolster your research; however, you will have to gain access to the full text through another means. Citation databases provide a way to locate bibliographic citations for journal and newspaper articles.
What can you expect to find?: The Index contains entries dealing with various aspects of extant and fossil American plants and fungi, including systematics and floristics, morphology, and ecology, as well as economic botany and general botany (publications dealing with botanists, herbaria, etc.). "America" is defined in the broadest possible sense, encompassing land and marine plants and fungi from Greenland to Antarctica. American territory outside this area, e.g., Hawaii, is not included. Within the index you will find only citations for information that comes from your search. Most of the items are owned by the New York Botanical Garden Library can be accessed in other databases.
Library
libref@nybg.org
(718)-817-8827
Archives
archives@nybg.org
Plant Information
plantinfo@nybg.org
Monday: Closed
Tuesday: 10am - 4pm
Wednesday: 10am - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 4pm
Sat & Sun: Closed
