This is the "Databases" page of the "Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MERTZ LIBGUIDES

Databases  

Last Updated: Apr 11, 2017 URL: http://libguides.nybg.org/databases_resources Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases & Resources

Photograph of person typing on keyboard

The resources linked below represent the electronic journal and database collections of the Mertz Library.  Note that an NYBG login may be required for certain databases.

Note that the term "union catalog" refers to a combined library catalog describing the collections of a number of libraries. Several of the resources below are union catalogs.

  • A-Z List of Databases
    The Mertz Library Database Collection provides a place to browse for links to sources of information that have been selected for their relevance to The New York Botanical Garden's mission.
  • Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL)
    The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
  • BioOne
    BioOne Complete is BioOne's full-text database of 200 leading journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
  • eJournals
    Users may search for a specific journal, browse journals by subject area or browse for journals relating to an education program.\
  • FirstSearch
    Information on a wide range of subjects in 12 databases.
  • Garden, Landscape, and Horticulture Index  
      
    Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index is a resource for access to articles about gardens and plants. Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy.
  • Index to American Botanical Literature (IABL)
    The Index contains entries dealing with various aspects of extant and fossil American plants and fungi, including systematics and floristics, morphology, and ecology, as well as economic botany and general botany (publications dealing with botanists, herbaria, etc.). "America" is defined in the broadest possible sense, encompassing land and marine plants and fungi from Greenland to Antarctica. American territory outside this area, e.g., Hawaii, is not included.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations.
  • JSTOR Global Plants
    Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
  • NYBG Garden Navigator
    A database of the living collections at the New York Botanical Garden. Also includes information about gardens, featured exhibits, and self-guided tours.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Web of Science (previously known as Web of Knowledge) is an online subscription-based scientific citation indexing service.

Additional Resources

  • AGRICOLA
    The National Agricultural Library Catalog (AGRICOLA). Provides citations to agricultural literature.
  • ArchiveGrid
    ArchiveGrid includes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
  • BISC Biosciences Information Sources Consortium
    A directory of recommended web resources compiled by librarians in the life sciences. This directory includes many websites related to botany and its subdomains.
  • Digital Public Library of America
    The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
  • ERIC  
      
    The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education.
  • Harvard University Herbaria & Libraries Digital Collections
    These databases from Harvard are extraordinarily useful for the purposes of researching botanists and botanical publications.
  • Kew Bibliographic Database
    This resource from the Royal Botanic Gardens Kew searches the Kew Record of Taxonomic Literature, Economic Botany, and Plant Micromorphology.
  • Linnaeus Link
    Search the catalogue for Linnaean materials (including digital) held in libraries throughout the world. Linnaeus Link is a comprehensive international online Union Catalogue of Linnaean publications.
  • MEDLINE®/PubMed®
    MEDLINE® contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world. PubMed® provides free access to MEDLINE and links to full text articles when possible.
  • OAIster
    OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records that represent open access resources. This catalog was built through harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster includes more than 50 million records that represent digital resources from more than 2,000 contributors.
  • Plant Information Online (UMN)
    Use Plant Information Online to discover sources in 1,008 North American nurseries for 79,299 plants, find 396,895 citations to 143,015 plants in science and garden literature, and access information on 2,725 North American seed and nursery firms. Plant Information Online is a free service of the University of Minnesota Libraries.
  • Resources for Job Seekers
    A listing of useful websites for those seeking work in plant-related industries in the greater New York City region.
  • The C.V. Starr Virtual Herbarium
    The C. V. Starr Virtual Herbarium is the gateway to the digitized specimens of the William and Lynda Steere Herbarium. Currently, 2.5 million specimen records and 1.5 million images are available. Every month, about 20,000 new records and images are added.
  • The Council on Botanical and Horticultural Libraries, Inc. (CBHL)
    An international organization of individuals, organizations and institutions concerned with the development, maintenance and use of libraries of botanical and horticultural literature.
  • The International Plant Names Index (IPNI)
    The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and lycophytes. Its goal is to eliminate the need for repeated reference to primary sources for basic bibliographic information about plant names.
  • Tropicos
    Tropicos® was originally created for internal research but has since been made available to the world’s scientific community. All of the nomenclatural, bibliographic, and specimen data accumulated in Missouri Botanical Garden's electronic databases during the past 30 years are publicly available here. This system has nearly 1.3 million scientific names and over 4.4 million specimen records.
  • Web Resources
    An extensive listing of useful websites related to botany, horticulture, and the history of science.
  • WorldCat  
      
    WorldCat is a union catalog that itemizes the collections of 72,000 libraries in 170 countries and territories that participate in the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) global cooperative.
 

Contact Us

Image of open book in Rare book room

Library
e libref@nybg.org
p 718-817-8604
f 718-817-8956

Archives
e ssinon@nybg.org
p 718-817-8874
f 718-817-8956

Plant Information
e plantinfo@nybg.org
p 718-817-8681

 

 

Library Hours

Monday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Tuesday: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Wednesday: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Thursday: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Friday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. 

Please enter by the Mosholu Gate if using the Library on a Monday.  NYBG grounds are closed to the Public on Mondays, but the Library is open.  The Library is closed Saturday, Sunday and Holidays.  Library hours are subject to change during summer months.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip