Global Plants on JSTOR is described as a special resource that is the largest of it's kind; a community-contributed database used by students and researched worldwide. Comprised of 3 million specimens, this resource includes digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration. The database is a service of ITHAKA (ithaka.org), a not-for- profit organization that helps the academic community use digital technologies to preserve the scholarly record and to advance research and teaching in sustainable ways.
You can search for information by a plant's name, by specific places, and by the person who preserved the specimen.
What can you expect to find?: Global Plants provides specific information about type specimens including it's herbarium, the collection it is from, the collector who preserved it, the locality and country, and additional identiication.
As a user, you can click either open the image of your searched specimen in a separate window or as a PDF file and zoom in or out, navigating the collected item. The only downfall of the specimens are that they are not in high resolution.
Read more about JSTOR Global Plants and how to use the database
For more assistance with the JSTOR database, please click on the links below:
Library
libref@nybg.org
(718)-817-8827
Archives
archives@nybg.org
Plant Information
plantinfo@nybg.org
Monday: Closed
Tuesday: 10am - 4pm
Wednesday: 10am - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 4pm
Sat & Sun: Closed
