Skip to Main Content

LuEsther T. Mertz Library
Plant & Research Guides

Library Home Plant Help Research Support All Guides

Services at the LuEsther T. Mertz Library: Image Requests

Personal Digital Photography:

Photography of Library materials by users is permitted when the images will be used solely for personal reference. The Library can provide high resolution scans for a fee. All requests are to be accompanied by a completed scan request form. Please consult the Library’s current fee schedule for prices.
 

Scanning:

The use of portable digital scanners and flat bed scanners is not allowed. The Library has scanners designed for book copy work. Arrangements to scan material from the collections should be made with the librarian on duty at the Information Desk. The Library provides a scanner for complimentary use which allows users to save images to a USB drive or to email. Use of this scanner is subject to copyright regulations and volume controls. 
 

Permissions:

All images from The LuEsther T. Mertz Library’s collections which are to be used for commercial purposes must be licensed by the Garden's Product Development Division. Request to reproduce images from the collection for scholarly purposes or one time publication should be discussed with the Librarian. Please consult the Library’s current fee schedule for pricing information pertaining to your request. Our preferred citation is ‘The LuEsther T. Mertz Library of The New York Botanical Garden’. We request that one copy of all published works making use of images from our collections be submitted to the Library at the time of publication. 

A ready made selection of several hundred images from the Library’s collections can be found by searching the website of Art Resource, the world’s leading art stock photo archive. Simply type the phrase ‘Mertz Library’ into the search box found on the home page of the company’s website.

Contact Us

Library
libref@nybg.org

(718)-817-8827 

 

Archives
archives@nybg.org

 

Plant Information
plantinfo@nybg.org
 

Library Hours

Monday: Closed

Tuesday: 10am - 4pm

Wednesday: 10am - 4pm

Thursday: 10am - 4pm

Friday: 10am - 4pm 

Sat & Sun: Closed