Skip to Main Content

LuEsther T. Mertz Library
Plant & Research Guides

Library Home Plant Help Research Support All Guides

The New York Botanical Garden Vertical Files

Browse the Library's collection of vertical files relating to the history of The New York Botanical Garden

Horticulture

Annuals (flowers)
Arboriculture
Benches

Birds and animals in the Garden

Bryce, Della J. - Wildlife Garden 

Cassia
Catalpa
Cherry Tree Inventory
Compost Project
Conifers
Corpse Flower
Dahlias
Data Bases-Plants
Digital Garden
Endangered Plants grown on grounds
Fauna
Ferns  
Forest Dedication
Hemerocallis
Hemlock Forest - pictures
Hemlock Forest (See Grant of Use of Additional Land in Bronx Park)
Hemlock Forest-Soil Map
H.H. Memorial Fund Garden (Photos)
Irrigation System
Landscape Design
Living Collections
Nursery Stock Catalogs
Oldest Accessioned Plant
Orcidaceae
Paleobotany Collection
Peonies
Pinetum
Plant Records 
Plant Sale
Prize Garden Photos
Prunus
Rhododendron Photos
Salicetum
Sequoiadendron giganteum - Cross Section
Spring Bulb Collection - Jane H. Choates
Rock Garden Festival 1976 and 1990
Rose Garden Photos
Trees- Various
Tulip Displays
Turf
Water Lilies

Living Collections

Arboretum 
Autumn Gardens
Azalea Garden
Begonias-Thompson Begonia Collection
Benenson Ornamental Conifers Collection
Beth's Maze
Bruckmann Crabapple Collection
Cary Arboretum
Chemurgic Garden 
Chrysanthemums Collection
Country Garden- Rodney White
Daffodils-Daffodil Hill
Daylily Collection (See Stout, Dr Arlow Daylily Garden)
Demonstration Gardens
Economic plants List (in NYBG Conservatory)
Erpf Compass Garden
Family Garden (Ruth Rhea Howell)
Forest (See Hemlock Forest)
Forest, Thain Family
Four Seasons Border
Fruticetum (photographs) Helen's Garden
Herb Garden
Helen's Garden

Home Gardening Center

Iris Garden 

Jane Watson Irwin Memorial Garden
Junkin Memorial Limestone Garden
Ladies' Border
Lilac Collection - T.A. Havermeyer (See Rose and Lilac Gardens)
Louise Loeb Vegetable Garden
Mitzubishi Wetlands
Montgomery Conifer Collections
Narcissus Collection, Murray Laisson
Native Forest
Native Plant Garden
Palm House
Peggy Rockefeller Rose Garden (See Rose Garden-Peggy Rockefeller)
Perennial Garden 
Rhododendron Valley
Rock Garden 1
Rock Garden 2
Rock Garden 3
Rock Garden List 1982
Rock Garden Old
Rock Garden Renovation 1988 - T.H. Everett Memorial Rock Garden
Rose and Lilac Gardens 1948- 1950
Rose Garden - Elon Huntington Hooker Shelter House (See Shelter Houses)
Rose Garden - Peggy Rockefeller 1980-1990
Rose Garden - Peggy Rockefeller 2000-
Rose Garden - Peggy Rockefeller Lists and Printed Materials
Rose Garden 1916- 1939
Rose Garden 1972 (See Edwin deT Bechtel Garden)
Ross, Arthur and Janet Conifer Arboretum
Rotunda and Orchid Terrarium - Thelka E. Johnson
Seasonal Border
Stout, Arlow B. Daylily Garden
Thain Family Forest (See Forest)
Topping, Melissa Stutsman Animal Planting 
Vegetable Garden- Louise Loeb
Wein, Mae L. Summer Flower Garden