Skip to Main Content

LuEsther T. Mertz Library
Plant & Research Guides

Library Home Plant Help Research Support All Guides

The LuEsther T. Mertz Library Reopening Plan & Services: Explore the Library Virtually

Take a Virtual Tour of the Mertz Library

Front entrance the LuEsther T. Mertz Library

The LuEsther T. Mertz Library in The Bronx, New York

The Mertz Library promotes the intelligent stewardship of the natural world by collecting and preserving works of merit in botany, horticulture and landscape design.

The Library’s outstanding collections represent over a century of commitment to botanical and environmental research. The skilled staff of the Mertz Library serve as an invaluable resource by providing the highest-quality resources and services to meet the needs of the Garden’s diverse research, instructional and outreach programs including the Garden’s research staff, botanists and horticulturists as well as scientific, scholarly, and artistic communities worldwide and the public at large.

At this time, theLuEsther T.  Mertz Library is closed to the public for in-person visitation. Please continue to check the NYBG homepage for updates. We look forward to welcoming you back!

The Rotunda at the Mertz Library

The Mertz Rotunda

Our grand entranceway into the Mertz Library; enjoy its natural light and botanical imagery.

The Mertz Library Reference Room

The Mertz Library Reference Room

The main reference room of the Mertz Library not only has a vast reference collection, but also an area devoted to children's books that focus on botanical subjects. Also see rotating exhibits from our world renowned collection of botanical books and ephemera.

An Open House in the Mertz Library

Occasionally we hold an Open House in the library where we present a themed exhibit and discuss the remarkable holdings of rare books, historic artifacts, archival documents, and artworks housed in the collections of the LuEsther T. Mertz Library.

The Rare Book Room and Folio Collections

This Collection is housed in the Rare Book and Folio Room, include the earliest manuscripts and printed books as well as some of the most beautiful botanical and horticultural volumes ever produced. The Rare Book Collection is mostly limited to pre-Linnean works (published before 1753). The Folio Collection is particularly notable for its holdings of 18th and 19th century sumptuous plate books featuring many fine botanical engravings and outstanding hand colored illustrations. All folio materials regardless of publication date are held in the Rare Book and Folio Room

The Reading Room

A quiet place to read, persue research, and attend one of our lectures.

PBS Tour

Lectures, Talks, and Symposia

Discover free videos of past and current lectures and conferences at NYBG, featuring experts from a wide range of disciplines including botany, horticulture, the humanities, and so much more.

Exhibits at the Library

The Mertz Library Exhibition Program is the primary vehicle for displaying and discussing the many remarkable holdings of rare books, historic artifacts, archival documents, and artworks housed in the collections of the LuEsther T. Mertz Library. Explore some of our past exhibits!

Digital Collections

The digital collections of the Mertz Library are extensive.  The link below allow users to navigate the library's collections made available through various portals.  Note that in many cases if there is a digital copy of a book available, our Catalog Department will provide a link in the catalog record.

Please contact the library with any questions.

Staff Favorites

Virtual Volunteering at the Mertz Library

Contact Us

Library
libref@nybg.org

(718)-817-8827 

 

Archives
archives@nybg.org

 

Plant Information
plantinfo@nybg.org
 

Library Hours

Monday: Closed

Tuesday: 10am - 4pm

Wednesday: 10am - 4pm

Thursday: 10am - 4pm

Friday: 10am - 4pm 

Sat & Sun: Closed