Research Guides: African American Resources: Introduction to the Collection

An Introduction to the collections at the LuEsther T. Mertz Library

The LuEsther T. Mertz Library, renowned for its vast and unparalleled collection of botanical literature, also houses significant works by and about African Americans in relation to plants, gardening, and environmental history. With hundreds of thousands of books spanning centuries of botanical knowledge, this collection serves as a hub for scholars, gardeners, and researchers exploring the intersection of African American culture and the natural world. From the contributions of African American botanists and horticulturists to the study of plant traditions within African American communities, the library offers invaluable resources that shed light on the rich, often overlooked, narratives surrounding plants in African American history. Free for all to explore, the Mertz Library is not only a destination for centuries of plant wisdom but also a vital resource for understanding the diverse roles African Americans have played in shaping our relationship with nature.

The New York Botanical Garden’s collection databases offer public access to a wide range of information, including historical materials that may contain offensive and unacceptable language. NYBG is committed to preserving collections data in their original forms for historical accuracy and to facilitate research. The information associated with collections data does not reflect the views or values of NYBG. We welcome feedback and questions about language found in our databases. Please contact collectionsidea@nybg.org.