Sophie Gimbel was an American stylist and designer who managed Saks Fifth Avenue’s customs boutique, Salon Moderne in 1929. Her expert workmanship and special talent for intricate details permitted her to create the Sophie collection and it became popular amongst the public. Her designs included satin, lace and chiffon fabric, creating attire with elegant fine lines, bringing out the essence of women’s natural beauty. Featured in Vogue magazine and Saks Fifth Ave News, Sophie’s collection began to garner more attention with the assistance of Ciel Grossman.
Serving as representative for New York’s Saks Fifth Avenue location, Grossman introduced the fashion shows where models were adorned with couture dresses, highly retail fashion items made by Sophie Gimbel. Newspaper publications advertised the exclusive collections, inviting people to come see cocktail dresses, suits and formal wear. Ciel Grossman was key to helping present Sophie Gimbel's collection, bringing Gimbel’s American influence of fashion around the States.
By 1979, Grossman began to dedicate her time and volunteer at the New York Botanical Garden. First assigned as a conservatory guide, Grossman’s tours became very popular as they were carefully researched, enabling her to present a thorough knowledge of the Garden’s history. She then transferred from the Conservatory over to the museum building and worked as a Mertz Library volunteer. In the library, she was known for her good humor, gentle demeanor and her efficiency compiling the Lord and Burnham corporation business index. It was believed that her skills in the library were drawn from her former experience as a Saks Fifth Avenue employee and for that, Ciel Grossman’s commended for her volunteer service, essential to both the fashion industry and Mertz Library team.
Archives of The New York Botanical Garden, Library Administration Records.
Archives of The New York Botanical Garden, Library Personnel Files.
Vogue: "Fashion: Design and Detail: Mrs. Sophie Gimbel." Vogue Nov 01, 1946: 204,204, 205. ProQuest. Web.
Library
libref@nybg.org
(718)-817-8827
Archives
archives@nybg.org
Plant Information
plantinfo@nybg.org
