This is the "Home" page of the "Flowering Schedule at NYBG" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MERTZ LIBGUIDES

Flowering Schedule at NYBG  

Last Updated: Sep 13, 2016 URL: http://libguides.nybg.org/floweringschedule Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask a Plant Expert

phone 

718-817-8681

Monday-Friday

9:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

 

email

plantinfo@nybg.org

 

address

The LuEsther T. Mertz Library 
The New York Botanical Garden
2900 Southern Blvd.
Bronx, NY 10458

 

NYBG Plant Collections

Arboretum Collections

Azalea Gardens

Children's Adventure Garden

Crabapple Collection

Daffodil Collection

 Daylilies

Herbaceous Peony Collection

 

Flowering Schedule at NYBG

From late winter to the end of Autumn, the New York Botanical Garden is bursting with flowers. Whatever your tastes, there are many different flowering plant collections to be found. Whether its bulbs, cherries, azaleas, lilacs, peonies, roses, asters or chrysanthemums, there is always something to see. You may even wish to time your visit to coincide with your favorite collection at its peak. 

The chart below provides a handy flowering schedule of the major plant groups here at NYBG. This information is based on phenological data collected over many years and represents the typical flowering period for a given collection.

** It should be noted that this chart is only an approximation. A mild winter often results in plants flowering earlier. Conversely, a cold spring may delay flowering. **

SPRING

COLLECTION RANGE PEAK
Minor Bulb Collection March to April March
Camellia Collection November to Early May March to April
Magnolia Collection Mid-March to Late April Early April
Daffodil Collection Mid-March to Early May April
Flowering Dogwood Collection April to May April
Cherry Collection April to May April
Lilac Collection April to Mid-May Mid-April
Crabapple Collection April to May Late April
Rock Garden March to November April to May
Tulip Collection Mid-April to Late May Early May
Tree Peony Collection Late April to Early May Early May
Azaleas and Rhododendrons April to Mid-June May 
Iris Collection Early May to June Mid-May
Herbaceous Peony Collection Early May to Late May Late May
Perennial Garden May to November May
Peggy Rockefeller Rose Garden May to November June
Home Gardening Center May to October June
Children's Adventure Garden June to November June
Ladies' Border March to December April


SUMMER

COLLECTION RANGE PEAK
Daylilies Mid-May to Mid-August June
Rock Garden March to November June
Peggy Rockefeller Rose Garden May to November June
Perennial Garden May to November June
Children's Adventure Garden June to November June to July
Herb Garden June to September July
Home Gardening Center May to October August
Ladies' Border March to December August


FALL

COLLECTION RANGE PEAK
Peggy Rockefeller Rose Garden May to November September to October
Rock Garden March to November September to October
Arboretum Collections Mid-September to November October to November
Perennial Garden May to November October
Ladies' Border March to December October
Home Gardening Center May to October October
Children's Adventure Garden June to November October
Hardy Chrysanthemums Mid-October to Mid-November October

NYBG Garden Navigator

Image of logo for Garden Navigator

  • NYBG Garden Navigator
    Use this resource to explore the NYBG grounds, including information about specific plants, bloom times, and garden features.
  • NYBG Garden Guides
    Guides from the Plant Information Office related to specific NYBG gardens, including their history, design, and current plantings.
 

GARDEN MAP

 

NYBG Plant Collections

Ladies' Border

Lilac Collection

Magnolia Collection

Perennial Garden

Rock Garden


Rose Garden

Tree Peony Collection

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip