Digital Collections: Home

Mertz Digital

The primary digital repository for the LuEsther T. Mertz Library. View digitized materials about the Garden, including historical photos, Garden publications, plant record log books, seed catalogs, and other treasures from our collections.

Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL)

BHL images may be intermittently available as Internet Archive recovers from a significant cyberattack. Please check the IA blog for live updates.

The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.

JSTOR Global Plants

Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.

Linnaeus Link

Search the catalogue for Linnaean materials (including digital) held in libraries throughout the world. Linnaeus Link is a comprehensive international online Union Catalogue of Linnaean publications.

The C.V. Starr Virtual Herbarium

The C. V. Starr Virtual Herbarium is the gateway to the digitized specimens of the William and Lynda Steere Herbarium. Currently, 2.5 million specimen records and 1.5 million images are available. Every month, about 20,000 new records and images are added.

Wiley Digital Archives

Archival material from the Mertz Library's Nathaniel Lord Britton Papers and Lewis David von Schweinitz Papers was contributed to Wiley Digital Archives. View that material plus material contributed by other institutions. Please note that this collection can be accessed only from a computer located at NYBG. (Authentication is by ip address.)

WCS and NYBG Libraries, Bronx Park Postcards

Funded by a 2011 METRO digitization grant, this digital collection brings together postcards held by the Wildlife Conservation Society Library (which houses the archives of the Bronx Zoo) and The New York Botanical Garden’s LuEsther T. Mertz Library. These 450 postcards, which range in date from 1905 to the 1980s, depict Bronx Park's natural beauty and highlight the buildings, landscapes, and inhabitants of the two iconic institutions located on this land.