Services at the LuEsther T. Mertz Library: Members & Volunteers

Welcome NYBG Members and Volunteers!

Overview

• Members and volunteers are eligible to sign up for a Library Card and to check out books from our circulating collections. 
• The standard loan period is three weeks, with one courtesy renewal.
• Your card also grants you access to our electronic materials, such as electronic journals and electronic databases. 

On-site Library services

• Browse and use our collection in the library
• Public computers
• High-res color scanner (no charge)
• Reading Room and WiFi for studying, projects and meetings
• Query Reference Librarians and Plant Information Specialists for help

Copying materials

• The Library provides a color scanner at no charge, and photographing our materials is permitted, provided no flash is used.  This includes cell phone photos. 
• Please see our policies regarding reproduction, (scanning, photography, etc.).  Our Fee Schedule can be found here: http://libguides.nybg.org/fee-schedule
• Notice: The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material; the person using this equipment is liable for any infringement.

Plan Ahead 

• Food is not permitted in the library.
• If you would like to consult materials from our Archives or Special Collections, please make an appointment beforehand.  All special collections materials must be examined in the presence of a librarian and/or archivist, and are subject to rules and restrictions detailed upon your visit.
• If you are interacting with archives or special collections: large bags and bulky coats must be placed in the closet to the left of the entrance, or in a locker to the right of the entrance.  Please ask for a quarter at the reference desk if you need one.
• Cell phones must be switched to silent when in the Library.  Phone calls are not permitted.  Personal computer use is welcome; there is free wifi available for use in our reading room.
• Please do not reshelve materials, but leave them on the tables so that we can see what was used.