Research Guides: How to use different library databases: Web of Science

Using "Web of Science"

Web of Science This link opens in a new window

Clarivate Analytics Web of Science is an academic database that specializes in linking users with a unique kind of information; CITATIONS. Instead of offering full text articles, like other databases, Web of Science helps the user to assemble links within research of several different disciplines through scholarly journals published over decades to the present. Although this database is great for finding newly-published content in many scientific fields, the actual article has to be hunted down separately. The database even boasts, "Web of Science is the only place where you can get over 1 billion searchable, cited references."

What can you expect to find?: "Key to the usefulness of the cited references in Web of Science is the capacity to search the references across time and across disciplines. No matter when the original item was published—last year, or at the beginning of the last century—Web of Science users can trace the progression of an idea or discovery and its impact over the years. This enables researchers, librarians, research managers, and others to uncover connections between publications and understand the influence of innovative ideas—tangents that might be missed when using less-comprehensive databases."

Web of Science Video Tutorial

This is a great tutorial on how to search through Web of Science -- however, it is important to note that the NYBG only has access to the citations of articles, not the full text.