Botanical and Horticultural Libraries in the Modern Era: Training and Vision for the Future
June 19th – 23rd 2018
Pre-Conference Day
Tuesday, June 19th
The New York Botanical Garden
8:30am – 5:30pm
Registration (all day at NYBG and/or Fordham)
9:00am – 5:30pm
Committee meetings for CBHL, EBHL executive and Linn Link Partners
6:00pm – 8:30pm
Opening reception (NYBG Visitor Center Cantina)
Day 1
Wednesday, June 20th
The New York Botanical Garden
8:00am – 9:00am
Continental Breakfast/Garden Terrace Room Foyer (Registration continues)
9:00am – 9:30am
Welcome and opening remarks by Gregory R. Long (NYBG President) and Susan Fraser (VP and Director of the LuEsther T. Mertz Library), Donna Herendeen, CBHL President, Pierre Boillat, EBHL President
9:30am – 10:20am
Opening Guest Speaker – Eric Sanderson – The Welikia Project – On the Historical Ecology of New York City
10:20am – 10:30am
Break
10:30am – 11:30am
Members' Presentations – The Changing Landscape of Collections Access
10:30 – 10:45 Amy Kasameyer- Preserving and providing access to the Silva Center library and archives
10:45 – 11:00 Félix Alonso- The Library of the Real Jardín Botánico de Madrid (RJB-CSIC): Bringing (Plant & Fungal) Knowledge to Society
11:00 – 11:15 Gayle Bradbeer- Helping users locate material beyond the stacks
11:15 – 11:30 Isabelle Charmantier- Launching the Linnean Society into the Modern Era
10:30 – 10:45 Amy Kasameyer- Preserving and providing access to the Silva Center library and archives
10:45 – 11:00 Félix Alonso- The Library of the Real Jardín Botánico de Madrid (RJB-CSIC): Bringing (Plant & Fungal) Knowledge to Society
11:00 – 11:15 Gayle Bradbeer- Helping users locate material beyond the stacks
11:15 – 11:30 Isabelle Charmantier- Launching the Linnean Society into the Modern Era
11:30am – 11:45am
Break
11:45am – 12:15pm
Presentation - Linneaus Link Partners Consortium – Isabelle Charmantier and Lynda Brooks
12:15pm – 1:15pm
Lunch (Garden Terrace Room)
1:15pm – 2:15pm
Members' Presentations – Information discovery tools – uniting researchers and libraries
1:15 – 1:30 Fiona Ainsworth- 21st century library - cataloguing and digitisation developments at Kew
1:30 – 1:45 Gunhild Bäck- How technology has united us – digital libraries, union catalogs, and consortia relationships
1:45 – 2:00 Stephen Sinon- John Torrey Papers- digitization and transcription
2:00 – 2:15 Cai Parryjones- Digitizing the Royal Horticultural Society’s Special Collections: Challenges and Opportunities for the RHS Lindley Library
1:15 – 1:30 Fiona Ainsworth- 21st century library - cataloguing and digitisation developments at Kew
1:30 – 1:45 Gunhild Bäck- How technology has united us – digital libraries, union catalogs, and consortia relationships
1:45 – 2:00 Stephen Sinon- John Torrey Papers- digitization and transcription
2:00 – 2:15 Cai Parryjones- Digitizing the Royal Horticultural Society’s Special Collections: Challenges and Opportunities for the RHS Lindley Library
2:15pm – 3:15pm
CBHL Business Meeting
3:15pm – 4:15pm
Guest Speakers – Annik LaFarge and Pat Jonas The High Line: Past, Present and Future
4:30pm – 6:00pm
Tours of NYBG on your own (Grounds and Conservatory Precinct)
A. Garden grounds tours (tram)
B. Visit Visions of Hawaii - Georgia O'Keefe exhibition (Enid A. Haupt Conservatory)
C. NYBG Shop
D. Guided tour of the Native Plant Garden
A. Garden grounds tours (tram)
B. Visit Visions of Hawaii - Georgia O'Keefe exhibition (Enid A. Haupt Conservatory)
C. NYBG Shop
D. Guided tour of the Native Plant Garden
6:00pm
Group meets at NYBG Visitor Center to walk to Arthur Avenue for group dinner
Day 2
Thursday, June 21st
Brooklyn Botanic Garden
7:45am – 8:00am
Buses leave NYBG Parking lot (opposite Fordham campus) Light snacks will be available on the bus; those who go out for breakfast should note the bus departure times and be at the NYBG parking lot by 7:45am.
8:30am
One bus stops at hotel – Bus leaves Roosevelt Hotel
8:45am – 9:00am
Bus arrives High Line – Walk the High Line
10:15am – 10:30am
Bus departs the High Line for the Brooklyn Botanic Garden
11:30am
Arrive at Brooklyn Botanic Garden
11:45am – 12:00pm
Welcome from Kathy Crosby (Head Librarian, Brooklyn Botanic Garden) – BBG Auditorium
12:00pm – 1:00pm
Members' Presentations – Biodiversity research – pathways to information
12:00 – 12:15 Pierre Boillat- Consortium of European Taxonomic Facilities and associations of librarians on botany: a common way for collaboration?
12:15 – 12:30 Gerwin Kasperek- BIOfid - an effort for mobilizing data on Central European biodiversity from literature sources
12:30 – 12:45 Jason Przybylski and Deirdre Ryan- JSTOR Plants & Society: Developing a new digital collection with the botanic garden, library, and university community
12:45 – 1:00 Lois DeVries- The Sustainable Gardening Library: An Innovative Approach for a Specialized Audience
12:00 – 12:15 Pierre Boillat- Consortium of European Taxonomic Facilities and associations of librarians on botany: a common way for collaboration?
12:15 – 12:30 Gerwin Kasperek- BIOfid - an effort for mobilizing data on Central European biodiversity from literature sources
12:30 – 12:45 Jason Przybylski and Deirdre Ryan- JSTOR Plants & Society: Developing a new digital collection with the botanic garden, library, and university community
12:45 – 1:00 Lois DeVries- The Sustainable Gardening Library: An Innovative Approach for a Specialized Audience
1:00pm – 2:00pm
Lunch
2:00pm – 3:00pm
EBHL Business Meeting
3:00pm – 3:30pm
Annual Literature Award
3:30pm – 4:15pm
Guest Speaker – Bobbi Angell – Art, Artists, and Art Collections: Botanical Art at NYBG 1898-2018
4:15pm – 5:00pm
A. View BBG's Florilegium and visit the Library
B. Tours of Brooklyn Botanic Garden
B. Tours of Brooklyn Botanic Garden
5:00pm
Cocktail reception at Brooklyn Botanic Garden
6:30pm – 7:00pm
Buses return to Hotel (Manhattan) and Fordham Residence (Bronx); Dinner on your own
Day 3
Friday, June 22nd
The New York Botanical Garden
8:00am – 9:00am
Continental Breakfast in Ross Gallery
9:00am – 10:15am
History and future collaborations
John Reed on CBHL – CBHL: Let's Start at the Beginning
Fiona Ainsworth on EBHL – 25 years of EBHL
Panel discussion about global collaboration and vision for the future - moderated by Brent Elliott, former Librarian of the RHS Lindley Library (London, England)
John Reed on CBHL – CBHL: Let's Start at the Beginning
Fiona Ainsworth on EBHL – 25 years of EBHL
Panel discussion about global collaboration and vision for the future - moderated by Brent Elliott, former Librarian of the RHS Lindley Library (London, England)
10:15am – 10:30am
Break
10:30am – 11:30am
Members' Presentations – Hidden Collections - unveiling treasures through research
10:30 – 10:45 Régine Fabri- Digitization and networking, useful tools to trace the history of a forgotten botanical device, the vasculum or collecting box
10:45 – 11:00 Maura Flannery- Plants in the Library: The Johannes Harder Herbarium
11:00 – 11:15 Brent Elliot- The Meaning of Nature
11:15 – 11:30 Florence Tessier- Botany teaching aids ca. 1880-1900
10:30 – 10:45 Régine Fabri- Digitization and networking, useful tools to trace the history of a forgotten botanical device, the vasculum or collecting box
10:45 – 11:00 Maura Flannery- Plants in the Library: The Johannes Harder Herbarium
11:00 – 11:15 Brent Elliot- The Meaning of Nature
11:15 – 11:30 Florence Tessier- Botany teaching aids ca. 1880-1900
11:30am
Walk or take the tram to the Stone Mill
12:00pm – 1:00pm
Lunch at the Stone Mill
1:00pm – 1:30pm
Charles R. Long Award, Founders Fund, Other announcements, Group photo
1:30pm – 2:00pm
Walk or take the tram to Ross Hall
2:00pm – 3:00pm
CBHL Business Meeting (2 of 2) Including update on CBHL membership database and time for members' news
3:15pm – 3:30pm
Meeting wrap-up
3:30pm
Break
4:00pm
Guest Speaker - Victoria Johnson - David Hosack and the joy & tragedy of his first medical-botanical garden in New York (Ross Hall)
5:00pm
Tours of NYBG (Library Building)
A. View treasures of the LuEsther T. Mertz Library
B. See unique specimens from the William & Lynda Steere Herbarium
C. Visit Visions of Hawaii - Georgia O'Keefe exhibition (Rondina and LoFaro Art Gallery)
A. View treasures of the LuEsther T. Mertz Library
B. See unique specimens from the William & Lynda Steere Herbarium
C. Visit Visions of Hawaii - Georgia O'Keefe exhibition (Rondina and LoFaro Art Gallery)
6:30pm
Reception and Banquet including Book Raffle
Post Conference Tours
Saturday, June 23rd
NYC EcoFlora project. Morning guided-tour of Central Park in the morning with Daniel Atha (NYBG Director of Conservation Outreach). (After this tour attendees may want to visit the Public Parks, Private Gardens: Paris to Provence at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, purchasing individual tickets.)
Tour of JSTOR offices and walk-around lower Manhattan with Deirdre Ryan and other JSTOR staff.